Maya%2520Balam%2520Meyong2_edited_edited

Maya

Braun Balam Meyong

Co-director & Artistic director

Member of the collective L’Ensemble and of the Caterina Rago Dance Company in New York, Maya is a freelance dance artist and co-director of the Perpetuum Mobile which she envisioned in 2018. 

 

Native from Belgium and Cameroon, Maya has studied dance in Paris under the direction of Rick Odums. She graduated from a BFA in dance at the PSPBB/Paris 8 University and from Rick Odum’s professional training and teaching programs under scholarship award. Maya is an alumnus of the Jacob’s Pillow Contemporary Program she attended under the direction of Milton Myers and Didy Veldman. She is also an awardee of the Vocatio foundation as well as of the Little Dreams Foundation of Phil Collins. During her studies, Maya deepened her knowledge of modern dance by studying in the US. Here, she had the honor of working with highly inspiring masters such as Sylvia Waters, Milton Myers, Ana Marie Forsythe, Miki Orihara, Denise Vale, Renee Robinson, Troy Powell, Toni Pierce and Uri Sands. 

 

Upon graduating, Maya moved to Brussels where she danced for different choreographers and started developing her own artistic projects and vision. She notably co-created L’Ensemble, a movement-based collective at the intersection of dance and other art forms, The Dancing Society, a home for dance artists to create, perform and share their art as well as the Perpetuum Mobile, a Brussels-based international dance festival. Furthermore, Maya enthusiastically shares her understanding of movement with both professional and amateur dancers. As a teaching artist, she was notably a faculty member at the Brussels International Ballet School and is known for her positive, generous and demanding approach of dance.

 

Maya currently lives in New York where she dances with the Caterina Rago Dance Company and as a freelance artist. As she develops her artistic universe, Maya explores, creates and progressively molds her dreams into reality.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Maya%2520Balam%2520Meyong2_edited_edited

Maya

Braun Balam Meyong

co-directrice & programmation

Membre du collectif L’Ensemble et de la Caterina Rago Dance Company à New York, Maya est danseuse, artiste et co-directrice du Perpetuum Mobile qu’elle imagine en 2018. 

Originaire de Belgique et du Cameroun, Maya étudie la danse à Paris sous la direction de Rick Odums. Elle obtient son BFA au PSPBB et à l’Université Paris 8. Alumnus du Jacob’s Pillow Contemporary Program auquel elle participe sous la direction de Milton Myers et Didy Veldman, Maya est lauréate de la Fondation Vocatio ainsi que de la Little Dreams Foundation de Phil Collins. Pendant ses études, elle approfondit sa connaissance de la danse moderne en étudiant aux Etats-Unis auprès de grands maîtres tels Sylvia Waters, Milton Myers, Ana-Marie Forsythe, Miki Orihara, Denise Vale, Renee Robinson, Troy Powell, Toni Pierce et Uri Sands.

Après sa formation, Maya s’installe à Bruxelles où elle danse pour différents chorégraphes tout en commençant à développer ses propres projets et sa vision artistique. Elle a notamment co-créé L’Ensemble, un collectif se déployant à l’intersection de la danse et d’autres formes artistiques, The Dancing Society, un foyer de création, de partage et de transmission, ainsi que le Perpetuum Mobile, un jeune festival international de danse basé à Bruxelles. Maya partage, par ailleurs, avec grand enthousiasme sa compréhension du mouvement à des danseurs tant professionnels qu’amateurs. Elle a notamment enseigné au sein de la Brussels International Ballet School et est réputée pour son approche généreuse, exigeante et positive. 

Maya vit actuellement à New York où elle danse au sein de la Caterina Rago Dance Company et en tant qu’artiste free-lance. Elle explore et crée, développe progressivement son univers artistique et façonne ses rêves en réalités.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram